Medal of Honor

The Congressional Medal of Honor is the highest and most prestigious award that the United States military can bestow upon a service member or veteran for acts of courage and valor. First authorized by President Lincoln in 1861, the Medal of Honor is the longest standing combat medal to be continually offered by the United States. The medal is conferred upon members of the United States Armed Forces “who distinguish themselves through conspicuous gallantry and intrepidity at the risk of life above and beyond the call of duty:

There are three versions of the medal: one for the Army, one for the Air Force, and one for the Navy, the Marines and the Coast Guard. A living Medal of Honor recipient will have the medal awarded personally by the President of the United States. However, if the recipient has fallen it will be awarded to their next of kin. As of 2018, there have been a total of 3,520 Medals of Honor awarded.

For More Information:

“History.” Congressional Medal of Honor Society. Accessed October 14, 2018,

“Military Awards for Valor - Top 3.” U.S. Department of Defense. Accessed October 14, 2018,